Saturday, December 13, 2008

Boone County Courthouse in Boone

Boone County was named for Captain Nathan Boone, a member of the United States Dragoons who explored and surveyed the Des Moines and Boone River valleys. The first official courthouse was built in 1865 in Boonesboro. The town of Montana sought to become the county seat; but by the time a new courthouse was built, the towns of Boonesboro and Montana had merged into the new county seat of Boone.
The current courthouse was completed in 1917. Designed in Second Renaissance Revival style by architect Norman T. Vorse, it features marble walls and terrazzo floors. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1981.

Visit the Boone County website for more information.

Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Boone County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to

No comments: