Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Linn County Courthouse in Cedar Rapids

Marion was Linn County’s first county seat for nearly 80 years, with three courthouses serving the county during that time. The current courthouse in Cedar Rapids was built beginning in 1923 on Municipal (May’s) Island in the middle of the Cedar River. It was designed by Joseph W Royer, featured Neo-Classical Revival architecture and used Bedford limestone for the exterior. May’s Island Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.

Visit the Linn County website for more information.

Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Linn County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to iowacourthouses@gmail.com

No comments: