Monday, December 15, 2008

Carroll County Courthouse in Carroll

Carroll County was named for Charles Carroll, the sole Roman Catholic and longest living signer of the Declaration of Independence. The first courthouse was built in Carrollton, but the county seat was moved to Carroll City (now Carroll), which was connected to the railroad. The current building, designed by Latenser & Sons and built in 1964 by Sioux Contractors, is the third courthouse to stand on the courthouse square. The bell from the 1887 courthouse stands north of the courthouse main entrance.

Visit the Carroll County website for more information.

Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Carroll County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to

No comments: