Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Van Buren County Courthouse in Keosauqua

Van Buren County was named for Martin Van Buren, the eighth president of the United States.

The Van Buren County Courthouse is the oldest in Iowa, with construction beginning in 1840, and has been in continuous use since its completion in 1843. The two story brick Greek Revival style building, submitted by James Hall and John Fairman, was constructed of locally made bricks, with nearby oak and walnut trees used for its frame and details. The second floor courtroom auditorium was designed without columns or pillars. The original tower and circular staircases were removed, but few structural changes have occurred since its construction. The Keosauqua County courthouse was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.

Visit the Keosauqua Community web site for more information.

Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Keosauqua County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to

No comments: