Iowa County was named for the Iowa River and the Ioway Native American tribe.
Iowa County’s first courthouse was a one-room log cabin built in Marengo in 1847. It was too small to be accepted by the board of supervisors, so it was rented by the county until another courthouse could be built.
The second courthouse was a stone building completed in 1851. Within ten years, it was also too small to meet the needs of the county.
The third courthouse was a brick building, constructed beginning in 1861. An addition was added in 1869, but the county needed larger facilities.
Iowa County’s current courthouse, a two-story Romanesque style by Foster and Liebbe, was built in 1892. It is made with Berea stone, and features a unique octagonal tower. The Iowa County courthouse was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1981.
Visit the Iowa County web site for more information.
Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Iowa County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to firstname.lastname@example.org