Saturday, March 28, 2009

Keokuk County Courthouse in Sigouney

Keokuk County was named for Sac Chief Keokuk.

Keokuk County’s first courthouse was a log structure built in Sigourney in 1845. This building was also used for jail, school, and public meetings. Its tenure as courthouse was brief, as the county seat was moved to Lancaster in 1846.

A two-story frame courthouse was completed in Lancaster in 1848.

The county seat was moved back to Sigourney in 1856. A two-story brick courthouse was completed in 1858.

Keokuk County’s current courthouse, a Beaux Arts Classical Revival stone structure designed by Wetherell and Gage, was completed in 1911. The three-story building features a clock tower and cupola. The Keokuk County courthouse was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1981.

Visit the Keokuk County web site for more information.

Do you have photos, facts, or stories about the Keokuk County Courthouse? Post a response, or send email to

No comments: